Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Western District of North Carolina

District Office Contact

Charlotte - District Headquarters

Phone: (704) 350-8000


Phone: (828) 771-7400


Phone: (704) 871-4300

Western District of North Carolina

Western District of North Carolina

Terry J. Burgin

U.S. Marshal Terry J. BurginThe Honorable Terry J. Burgin was nominated by President Joseph R. Biden, Jr., confirmed by the United States Senate, and appointed on December 9, 2022, to serve as the United States Marshal (USM) for the Western District of North Carolina.

District Task Force Contact

Appalachian Fugitive Investigative Strike Team

Phone: (828) 771-7400

Carolinas Regional Fugitive Task Force

Phone: (704) 350-8000


Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, McDowell, Macon, Madison, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes, Yancey

Court: in Asheville, Charlotte, Shelby, Statesville

The organizational structure of the district can be found in the United States Code Title 28, Part I, Chapter 5, Section 113.

Profiled Fugitives

If you have information on any fugitives, please call 1-888-869-4589. (24 Hour Tip Line)

The policies and procedures of the various U.S. Marshals Service District Offices found on this website may vary depending on local rules, local needs, and legal and policy interpretations. These policies and procedures, and any variations among District Offices, are not intended to, do not, and may not be relied upon to create any rights, substantive or procedural, enforceable at law by any party or person in any matter civil or criminal. Nor are any limitations thereby placed on otherwise lawful U.S. Marshals Service prerogatives.